• Advertisement

Painted my sights

Moderators: ripjack13, John A.


.22LR
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:43 pm
Location: Meeker, OK.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 1:33 pm
I started wondering if I painted sights I might shoot better groups, so I went to wife's finger nail polish and got a bottle of white, painted front and back and I must say I can get on target much easer, I haven't gone to range to really test it but so far I'm happy I did it... :mrgreen:
I would post some pictures but I have no idea how to on this forum :oops:

.410
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 3:28 pm
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:34 pm
I painted just the front sight on mine and it sure helped these old eyes.

.410
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:22 pm
Location: Noble county, Ohio
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 1:03 pm
9026543 wrote:I painted just the front sight on mine and it sure helped these old eyes.


X2
US Army Retired

.410
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:28 pm
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 9:11 pm
I've been debating this for a while. I'll have to give it a try.

.410
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:28 pm
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 2:22 pm
What did you guys use to paint? And did you mask the area off, or just go at it freehand?

.410
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 3:28 pm
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:48 pm
Finger nail paint. Freehand.

.410
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:28 pm
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 9:44 pm
9026543 wrote:Finger nail paint. Freehand.


Heck, even I can do that!

.22LR
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 11:28 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:49 am
I got the truglo paint and wasn't impressed. Kind of rubbery and doesn't stick well. Going to try multiple coats and see if that works better.

.410
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 1:03 pm
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:29 am
I painted the front sight with Testors white gloss model paint that I bought at Hobby Lobby. It does help.


Dave
User avatar
.410
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 12:26 pm
Location: Heart of Dixie
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:06 pm
I picked up a gun sight paint kit from Bright Sights at an LGS today. Five different colors and a bottle of cleaning solution. Cost was $22.99 for the kit.

.22LR
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 4:38 pm
Location: Garnet Valley, PA 19060
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:24 pm
I painted my sights with an acrylic paint penn white on rear and red on front. Works great.
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:07 am
Good to know...
User avatar
.22LR
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:34 pm
Location: Virginia
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 1:12 pm
The oil based white opaque fine line paint pen worked well. The area was too small for the 3-dot treatment so it got the 3-rectangle treatment. My old eyes can line it up now!
Carpe diem
User avatar
.22LR
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:24 pm
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:51 pm
I know this thread is a little old but where are the pics of all your painted sights? You know what they say, pics or it didn't happen :o
User avatar
.22LR
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:34 pm
Location: Virginia
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:59 pm
Here ya go!

Image
Carpe diem
User avatar
.22LR
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:24 pm
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:14 pm
Nice. Makes the sights look much bigger. I'm going to have to do the same with mine but I'm going to do just the front to start and see how I like it.

Return to Remington RM-380

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

  • Advertisement